Snapped with Frustration !

The webster dictionary defines Frustration as … a deep chronic sense or state of insecurity and dissatisfaction arising from unresolved problems or unfulfilled needs.

It describes perfectly the feeling I’ve been feeling with my drawing talents. What I thought was perfect isn’t so perfect to others.  I drew a Chinese Zodiac chart for my Mom on Mothers Day and she came to me asking for a redo bcuz my Chinese Zodiac Animals were outta order. I redrew it in the proper order … Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Ram, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Boar. But she still wasn’t satisfied and this time her redo request was that my Dragon looked more like a Alligator and my Ram, Boar, and Ox also needed a redo. Apparently to her the Ram is a sheep with horns when Rams come in many varieties.  I drew a sorta mountain goat like ram. In the end I redrew this Chinese Zodiac chart probably 10+ times.

Another friend who I’ve been drawing this for his website also requested me to redo some of the things I drew for him. It makes me appreciate those who draw for a living such as Animators and Fashion Designer sketch artist who probably have to deal with redrawing a million times to meet the satisfaction of the Cartoon producer or the Fashion Designer who’s gonna be making the sketches come to life. I can’t imagine working for a animation company who makes me redo a drawing of a dog or mouse a million times til they like it.

I often draw things and think they’re perfect but to others it seems my drawings are a knit pickers dream as they come to me and say this is wrong and that should be redone and this too. BAH !! This is why I dropped outta Art class in High School cuz my Art teacher saw nothing but my flaws in everything I did or made. I’m frustrated and snapped my pencil. I never thought ever in my Life that I’d ever start to hate my favorite hobby. I need a break from drawing for now or else my head is gonna snap just like my pencil.

One thought on “Snapped with Frustration !

  1. sanochi says:

    It’s not that people don’t appreciate what you do. It’s just that the way people see things in their head turn out too different at times do to poor explanation. But it’s the same with any talent.

Leave a Reply

