Concession Confession (^I^)

*Note : These pics were from 2009 so Prices may have changed*

I’m going to the Movies on Sunday to finally go see the Legend of the Guardian movie. I’m pretty excited cuz it looks like it’s gonna be a doozie of a Movie and probably … PROBABLY might bump AVATAR down to my #2 favorite seen-it-at the movies movie pick. But I haven’t seen it, yet so I can’t exactly judge correctly. But I thought today I’d blog about the AMC Movie snacks. I agree with the rest of the world that the prices are OUTRAGEOUS and if we were cartoon characters we’d be scrambling around the floor looking for our eyeballs cuz they’ve popped outta our sockets when we saw the prices of the snacks.

Now a trick that my Sister has done for YEARS is sneak in your own snacks. Most places don’t bother checking Women purses or Backpacks or Diaper bags or whatever. So you’re able to bring in your own home popped popcorn in a ziplock baggie, snack size bag of chips, and a bottled drink. Now I’m not saying this is a freakin’ picnic and you should carry a giant duffle bag with ready-cooked hotdogs, nacho chips with the cheese in a tupperware container, and a 6 pack of soda. There is something called a Limit and the rule of Do It at Your Discretion to sneaking in your own snacks.

I learned after several orders of the Small Popcorn that AMC is blind when it comes to sizes. There Small are actually Large … Medium is actually Xtra Large … and Large is enough to fill up a kitchen sink. LOL I’ve always ordered a Small and ended up with alot of popcorn leftover. One can only eat so much of the puffy kernels. The last time I went to the movies was a few weeks ago to see the Expendables and wasn’t in much of a mood for alot of popcorn so I ordered the Kids Snack Pack and you know what I think people should order this more often. It comes with a Drink, a pack of Fruit snacks, and Popcorn that’s perfectly enough for Two people to share. Light bulb went off in my head and I thought I’m ordering this each time I come to the movies.

Now let me share with you my secret with AMC movie snacks. I once had packets of Parmesan cheese and  Hot Pepper flakes in my bag. I guess after we had bought Pizza somewhere I must of stuffed the packets in my bag. I had the idea of opening those packets of Parmesan cheese and hot pepper flakes then sprinkled them over my Popcorn. I ate enough so I can close up the bag and give it a shake. OMG it was delicious !! Better than the plain stuff they give you. I’ve tried butter but it was too oily and made your popcorn soggy.

Now my secret is if you go to the Supermarket Popcorn aisle they’d have small canisters of popcorn seasoning called Kernels Popcorn Seasoning and they usually got them in flavors like Butter, Nacho Cheese, White Cheddar, Ranch, etc. Grab a bottle of that cuz it’s very small in size … fits into your purse or pocket easily. When the turn off the lights sprinkle that stuff onto your popcorn. My favorite is the Sour Cream n’ Onion, Garlic Parmesan, Ranch, White Cheddar, and Chili Lime. You can order them online if you can’t find that certain flavor … KernelSeasons.com. If you don’t wanna order you can always create your own which I have done a few times. My recipe for a Garlic Parmesan seasoning is … Garlic salt about 1 teaspoon, 2-4 teaspoons of Parmesan cheese, and a dash of hot pepper flakes mix that up and put it in a ziplock baggie. If you want a little mexican flare I used a Chili Limon powder which you can find in a grocery store. EXPERIMENT !! I use these kinda seasonings with my home-popped popcorn. You can go around the world with these seasons. Like Cajun food – Cajun season in the seasoning aisle of the grocery store, Like Indian food – try Curry Powder, Tumeric, and Nutmeg, Like Japanese – A little Wasabi powder *Mind you be very careful how much you sprinkle on cuz Wasabi powder can be very very strong and too much can ruin your popcorn* … Another note make sure to bring a little extra cuz the smell of these seasonings can sometimes get you the attention of the people sitting behind or in front of you. In my case since ALL Disabled seating is generally in the back of the theater the people in front. You can offer them a sprinkle onto their popcorn and spread the secret like pesticide spray spread over a farmland. (n__n) Enjoy and VIVA LA SNEAK-A-SNACK-LUCION !! *Twisting the word Viva La Revolucion*

Leave a Reply

